HomeHome  PortalPortal  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  Log in  

Share | 
 

 Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:13 am

LEGACY DOCUMENTARIES PRESENTS - ALMANZO WILDER: LIFE BEFORE LAURA, AN ALL NEW DOCUMENTARY ABOUT ALMANZO'S CHILDHOOD. A SHORT TRAILER WILL BE AVAILABLE IN NOVEMBER 2007 AND A SPRING 2008 RELEASE IS PLANNED FOR THIS DOCUMENTARY, WHICH WILL BE SOLD EXCLUSIVELY THROUGH THE ALMANZO & LAURA INGALLS WILDER HOMESTEAD SITE.

REMEMBERING THE LAST FAREWELL--A LEGACY DOCUMENTARIES PRODUCTION. MELISSA GILBERT AND DEAN BUTLER RETURN TO WALNUT GROVE TO REMEMBER WHAT IT WAS LIKE DURING THE FINAL DAYS OF LHOP. INCLUDES NEVER BEFORE SEEN PICTURES THAT MAKE THIS DOCUMENTARY A MUST HAVE FOR ALL LITTLE HOUSE FANS.

Dean keeps everyone abreast of new releases and shares some great LHOP moments at his Legacy Documentaries blog, which can be found at http://legacydocumentaries.com/blog/


Photobucket


Last edited by bethandmanly on Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:18 am

Cool!
Back to top Go down
pamh36
Ingalls Friend for Life
Ingalls Friend for Life


Number of posts : 5900
Location : Michigan

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Sun Nov 04, 2007 2:51 pm

Thank you so much for passing on the information!


Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:50 pm

Wonder how much they are going for?
Back to top Go down
Vanesa
Ingalls Friend for Life
Ingalls Friend for Life


Number of posts : 5178
Location : Buenos Aires, Argentina
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:54 pm

Dean is an amazing guy. Apparently he can't understand why people loves Laura, Almanzo and other LHOTP characters so much. He can't understand what a great job he did at the show, and how deep the show entered in our hearts.

These Youtube video tributes is a way to say "thank you" to him and to all the "Little House's" staff. Love

Vanesa.


Back to top Go down
View user profile http://jacintapichimahuida.obolog.com
MattLabMyLove
THE #1 Survivor fan
THE #1 Survivor fan


Number of posts : 4810
Location : AT THE CIVIC ARENA.
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:17 pm

That was really great that he was touched by the youtube videos and commented on them in his blog!!! grinsmiley

Beckie


LETS GO PENS!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:41 am

Cool.
Back to top Go down
ChristinaAL
Little House Lady
Little House Lady


Number of posts : 2750

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:59 pm

How exciting! Dean seems like a wonderful person, really appreciates his fans and LH. He was perfect for his role and I can't wait to see this the new documentaries!




"It is still best to be honest and truthful; to make the most of what we have; to be happy with simple pleasures and to be cheerful and have courage when things go wrong."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:40 pm

Almanzo Wilder: Life before Laura will be released on September 25th. Dean uploaded a new video trailer at YouTube today. This DVD is going to be so awesome! You can check out the trailer here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zq0HbQ7Kd0g


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:43 pm

I love Deans youtube videos. Love Thanks for posting, Cheryl. Thumbsup
Back to top Go down
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:12 pm

BTW, the cost is $21.95 and you can go to The Wilder Homestead's site at http://www.almanzowilderfarm.com/index.htm to pre-order it.


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
Savannah
"Psalm 34"



Number of posts : 53817
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:17 pm

Cheryl, do you know if there are any plans for it to air on television?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Thu Sep 18, 2008 12:23 am

I don't think so, because it's really a type of fundraiser for the Wilder Homestead--a way for Dean to help them support what they do.


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
ChristinaAL
Little House Lady
Little House Lady


Number of posts : 2750

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:44 pm

Cool! I can't wait to see it! Thumbsup




"It is still best to be honest and truthful; to make the most of what we have; to be happy with simple pleasures and to be cheerful and have courage when things go wrong."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
LIWnut
Proverbs 3:5-6
Proverbs 3:5-6


Number of posts : 2529
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:03 pm

I got my copy today. It is awesome. I had tears at the end, it was sooo good.
I called the homestead and gave them my billing info, even though I had preordered online. I'm so glad I did. I just couldn't wait.


Back to top Go down
View user profile
Amy
Somewhere in Time
Somewhere in Time


Number of posts : 13379
Location : Michigan
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:08 pm

Oh wow, I am going to HAVE to have this!! Thanks for the info! Thumbsup Glad you enjoyed it Marilyn!

Edit*...I just went to the Youtube vid. That was done so well! Dean looks great---so cute in his basball cap! Wink I was surprised to hear even himself pronounce Almanzo with 'man'...I always thought it was pronounced "Mahn"! That's how everyone said his name in the show!!! How strange.

Ok, so is the "Remembering the Last Farewell" something totally separate then? Has that been released? I definitely need that!


ôNot all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love

~Mother Teresa
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:35 pm

Amy wrote:
I was surprised to hear even himself pronounce Almanzo with 'man'...I always thought it was pronounced "Mahn"! That's how everyone said his name in the show!!! How strange.

Ok, so is the "Remembering the Last Farewell" something totally separate then? Has that been released? I definitely need that!

Dean actually blogged about the pronunciation of Manly's name at http://legacydocumentaries.com/blog/?p=50 It will tell you where they got the pronunciation for the show--which I was surprised about.

As for "Remembering the Last Farewell", that is going to be included as part of the bonus content on the new 60-disc Mega-Pack that's coming out in November. Here's more of what you can expect with the new set: http://www.tvshowsondvd.com/news/Little-House-Prairie-The-Complete-Series/10322 BTW, Dean and his staff produced most of it. Go Dean!!!!


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
Amy
Somewhere in Time
Somewhere in Time


Number of posts : 13379
Location : Michigan
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Oct 08, 2008 9:50 am

WOW...I'm surprised about that too Cheryl! Now I don't know which way I side as far as the 'correct' pronounciation, after reading Dean's views and the responses! For me, I can only think of him as Al "MON" zo, simply because that's what I grew up hearing, but if Laura herself called him "Al "MAN" zo on the recording, then I have to believe that's truly how it was prounounced.

I am hoping for a nice big discount from Best Buy on the new release of dvds...(hubby works a second job there)...My Dr. Quinn dvds ended up being almost 50% off each, so if that's the case, this might actually be a feasible Christmas present for me! Cheer I may have to give up the 'usual' clothes and home decor stuff, but this would be WELL worth that sacrifice! Wink Wink


ôNot all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love

~Mother Teresa
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:24 am

Amy wrote:
I am hoping for a nice big discount from Best Buy on the new release of dvds...(hubby works a second job there)...My Dr. Quinn dvds ended up being almost 50% off each, so if that's the case, this might actually be a feasible Christmas present for me! Cheer I may have to give up the 'usual' clothes and home decor stuff, but this would be WELL worth that sacrifice! Wink Wink

Can you adopt me so that I can get that discount too? :haha:


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
Lori
Ingalls Friend for Life
Ingalls Friend for Life


Number of posts : 5988
Location : A Buckeye in Michigan

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Oct 08, 2008 9:34 pm

When I was reading what Dean wrote, I thought of the recording of Laura's voice that I heard when I visited Rocky Ridge. I would definitely go with Laura's pronunciation. Personally I wouldn't really trust Roger Lea MacBride. He took one of Rose's novels that was loosely based on her life and retitled it as an autobiography. I also don't like that he took a fictional character from one of Rose's books and put him in his Rose series as if he was actually a part of the Wilders's lives. But that's just my opinion.


Back to top Go down
View user profile
Amy
Somewhere in Time
Somewhere in Time


Number of posts : 13379
Location : Michigan
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:49 am

bethandmanly wrote:
Amy wrote:
I am hoping for a nice big discount from Best Buy on the new release of dvds...(hubby works a second job there)...My Dr. Quinn dvds ended up being almost 50% off each, so if that's the case, this might actually be a feasible Christmas present for me! Cheer I may have to give up the 'usual' clothes and home decor stuff, but this would be WELL worth that sacrifice! Wink Wink

Can you adopt me so that I can get that discount too? :haha:

:haha: Sure Cheryl...I'm sure you'd fit right in!.....

....Oh wait...does that mean I'd have to 'adopt' all your Christmas trees too? Well, if you're willing to supply the bigger house batEyes , we'll adopt you, and your trees! :xmastree:


ôNot all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love

~Mother Teresa
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:34 pm

I'm down a couple of trees this year, so maybe we'll all fit. :haha:


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
Savannah
"Psalm 34"



Number of posts : 53817
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:55 pm

I've been sending your links to as many friends as I can think of, Cheryl. grinsmiley Your blog should be seeing even more traffic soon.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Thu Oct 09, 2008 5:06 pm

Thanks Savannah. I appreciate that.


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
bethandmanly
Dean's Dedicated Diva
Dean's Dedicated Diva


Number of posts : 7230
Location : In a book
Mood :

PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:00 pm

Hello all,

I posted a review of Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura if you would like to find out more about it. You'll find it here: http://lauralittlehouseontheprairie.blogspot.com/2008/10/almanzo-wilder-life-before-laura-dvd.html

Enjoy!

Cheryl


Photobucket
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://ccmalandrinos.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted   Today at 4:53 am

Back to top Go down
 
Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Almanzo Wilder: Life Before Laura - review now posted
» Little House Bonus DVD Content
» The Wilder Life - A new book
» Character profile of Almanzo James Wilder
» Life and Times of Laura

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: Little House on the Prairie :: LAURA INGALLS WILDER-
Jump to: